Plan B Regional Bash finals at the SCG
Date of Event : Fri Dec 8, 2017 3:04PM
The Orana Outlaws are chasing successive Plan B Regional Bash titles

Some of the best country cricketers from vastly different regions of NSW will compete for the Plan B Regional Bash Twenty20 title at the SCG on Sunday.

Reigning champions the Orana Outlaws from Western NSW, Wagga Wagga Sloggers from the south, Northern Rivers Rock from up near the Queensland border and the Newcastle Blasters from the state’s second largest city are all a chance to be crowned the best T20 team from regional NSW.

Despite being the most far flung of the teams, the Orana Outlaws have a remarkable record, appearing on the SCG for a third successive time on the big finals day. They are the only team to achieve that honour during each year of the competition.

The big question is can the Outlaws claim back to back titles without dynamic captain Jordan Moran, who is nursing a broken thumb. Moran was named NSW Country Cricketer of the Year last season.

Even though the 16-team competition has a new round-robin format, the same four teams which made it through to the SCG finals day last season are appearing again.

The first match on Sunday is the Sixers Conference Final between the Newcastle Blasters and Northern Rivers Rock starting at 10am.

This will be followed by the Thunder Conference Final at 2pm between the Orana Outlaws and Wagga Wagga Sloggers.

The two winning teams will then play off for the Plan B Regional Bash title under lights from 6.30pm.

A key player for Northern Rivers Rock is powerful allrounder Caleb Ziebell.

The Cudgen Crusher is coming off a spectacular performance last Sunday, when he blasted an unbeaten 128 in just 64 balls with seven fours and 10 Sixes as the Rock beat the Northern Inland Bolters to top the Coffs Harbour Pool of the Sydney Sixers Conference.

Ziebell will be hopeful of repeating his efforts from last year’s finals day, where he scored 77 in the Sixers Conference final.

The Rock’s captain, Justin Moore, is a classy top order batsman who scored 96 in a partnership of 220 with Ziebell last Sunday.

And the Rock will also have the ever reliable 49-year-old former NSW spinner Anthony Kershler.

Their Sixers Conference Final opponents the Newcastle Blasters are led by Nathan Price, the NSW men’s indigenous captain and skipper of the NSW Country team to play the Toyota National Country Championships in Geraldton, Western Australia, next month.

The Blasters also have Joe Price, a talented allrounder chosen in the NSW Country team, and Dylan Hunter, a classy batsman and clever slow bowler.

The Wagga Wagga Sloggers have an international flavour to their team.

In a rare occurrence during an Ashes summer, at least some Australians will be cheering an Englishman when Michael Mitchell, a stylish English import and Twenty20 specialist, turns out for the Sloggers.

Captain Joel Robinson is a free-scoring batsman and Nick Grant is a run miser with the ball.

Their Thunder conference opponents the Orana Outlaws will also be barracking for an Englishman of their own, Greg Buckley, a high quality allrounder.

In the absence of Moran the Outlaws will also be relying on Mitch “the Big Sauce” Bower, a big-hitting batsman who was the player of last year’s Plan B Regional Bash Final.

The Outlaws also have under age ACT/NSW Country representatives Marty Jeffrey, Henry Railz and Broc Larance along with Wes “Wackem” Giddings, a top order batsman and slow left arm bowler.

Finals schedule

Sixers Conference Final 10am

Newcastle Blasters v Northern Rivers Rock

Thunder Conference Final 2pm

Orana Outlaws v Wagga Wagga Sloggers


Plan B Regional Bash Final – 6.30pm

Winner of Sixers and Thunder Conference Finals

Last updated: Friday December 8, 2017 3:14PM